Jimmy John’s gluten free – Gluten free fast food

It’s lunchtime…and you’re starving! You’re craving something delicious from Jimmy John’s sandwich shop. But, if you’re Celiac or have a gluten allergy or intolerance, before you order you need to know – is Jimmy John’s gluten free? Do they have gluten free bread? Are any of their sandwich fillings gluten free? We have done all of the research to help you prepare for your next visit!

Jimmy John’s gluten free options

According to Jimmy John’s own allergen menu…sadly, no. So far there are no gluten free BREAD options, but that doesn’t mean you don’t have other options to be able to dine here. (Jimmy John’s – please consider adding a gluten free bread item to your menu! There…got that out of my system.) Here are the options you do have for gluten free eating at Jimmy John’s:

Gluten free bread or wraps

  • Unwich – basically, a lettuce wrap. So, you can have your favorite sandwich stuff all wrapped up in a lettuce leaf. Not quite as good, of course, as a decent gluten free bread – BUT – at least you can have something to wrap up those decadent fillings! And, this is also a low-carb option.

Gluten free meats and deli meats

There are definitely some yummy sounding options when it comes to the actual sandwich fillings! You have a number of choices:

  • Ham
  • Turkey
  • Roast Beef
  • Salami
  • Capicola
  • Bacon
  • Be aware of the cheese! On their menu it says it’s not gluten free! (It says it’s wheat free but not gluten free. If I can find out more information on that, I’ll be sure to add it here.)

Gluten free spreads and toppings

Again, the options are plentiful when it comes to adding the flavor to the sandwich in the form of mayos, spreads and mustards.

  • Avocado spread
  • Kickin’ ranch dressing/spread
  • Hellman’s mayo
  • Jimmy mustard
  • Grey Poupon mustard
  • yellow mustard
  • Oil and Vinegar
  • Oregano-basil (I think this must be a type of seasoning they add on top?)

Gluten free veggies and other sandwich toppers

  • Lettuce, tomato, cucumber and onion
  • Jimmy Peppers

Gluten free sides: Jimmy Chips

Yay! Some flavors of their Jimmy Chips are also gluten free. Here are your gluten free side dish/chips options. And we all know that a bag of chips tastes perfect next to your sandwich!

  • Regular Jimmy chips
  • Jalapeno Jimmy chips

Be careful, though, because their BBQ Jimmy Chips ARE NOT gluten free. And neither are their Salt & Vinegar flavor of Jimmy Chips. Stick to the plain or Jalapeno, and you should be just fine.

Conclusion – Does Jimmy John’s have gluten free food?

If you need to eat at Jimmy John’s then you can find something to eat if you can’t consume gluten. But, there are fairly limited options. There’s no gluten free bread, and only a lettuce wrap option. Some people like a lettuce wrapped sandwich (hey, it’s also low carb!) and others don’t feel like that’s a sandwich at all. On the other hand, there are quite a few fillings and toppers and spreads to choose from that have no gluten containing ingredients.

Be aware of the issue of cross contamination, too. If you’re Celiac, you’ll need to decide if your local Jimmy John’s is careful enough to prevent the chances of this happening, and you getting sick. Make sure to always let the server know that you are either Celiac or have a gluten allergy when they’re preparing your sandwich.

We hope this guide has helped you plan your next meal! Let us know what your experience with Jimmy John’s has been while eating gluten free.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *