Is Stella Artois Gluten Free? It is an interesting question. This is one of my favorite beers to drink. It is refreshing on a hot summer day. The beer has a nice taste and has a beautiful golden brown color. Just thinking about it makes me want one!
And one of the reasons why it is so good is that this beer’s history goes back to 1366. Yes, that’s right, the middle ages! If it is not broken, don’t fix it as the saying goes. However, is Stella Artois gluten free? It is important to know because many people are gluten intolerant today and need to know. Let’s analyse this beer.
Is Stella Artois Gluten Free – The Ingredients
This is the first thing we need to look at. What ingredients are in this beer? From their website it says that the ingredient are water, barley malt, hops, and Stella Artois’ unique yeast strain. Everything looks good except for one ingredient, barley malt. Is this gluten free?
To find out, I went to the Beyond Celiac website and it said this:
“Barley malt and barley malt extract are also not gluten-free. The word “malt” on a food label usually indicates that there is gluten in the product. Examples include malt vinegar, malted milk, malted beverages (like beer) and malted syrup.” So, sadly, Stella Artois is NOT a gluten free beer.
Conclusion – Stella Artois is NOT Gluten Free
Stella Artois is not gluten free which is too bad. But it is good to know before you have one by mistake, because the results can be very unpleasant. However, all is not lost. If you want to find a gluten free beer, this article “Who Makes Gluten Free Beer in Canada” has some options. So don’t worry! There are gluten free beers out there to enjoy but it is just not this one. So the search goes on! Please drink responsibly, and stay well.