A picture of couscous, to pose the question is couscous gluten free.

Is Couscous Gluten Free?

Is couscous gluten free? It is an interesting question. It is a very popular food in the world and it is readily available at grocery stores. It is also a very popular dish in restaurants that focus on Middle Eastern cuisine. But what is couscous? Here’s what Healthline has to say below:

“It’s a processed grain product made from little balls of durum wheat or semolina flour. There are three types of couscous: Moroccan, Israeli and Lebanese. Moroccan couscous is the tiniest and most readily available version. Israeli or pearl couscous is about the size of peppercorns and takes longer to cook. It tends to have a nuttier flavor and chewier texture. Lebanese couscous is the largest of the three and has the longest cooking time. “

Is Couscous Gluten Free? No

I am sorry to say that couscous is not gluten free. Here’s what the same Healthline article had to say about this below:

“Semolina flour is made by grinding the endosperm of durum wheat. It’s considered a high-gluten product. Since couscous is made from semolina flour, it contains gluten. This makes it off limits for those with a gluten allergy or intolerance.”

Conclusion

Couscous is not gluten free so if you are gluten intolerant or Celiac, you should avoid it. Instead you should look for alternative flours and grains such as rice flour, tapioca, corn starch, buckwheat, quinoa and almond flour to name a few. Fortunately, there is a lot to choose from and a lot of these alternatives taste good too! It is too bad that gluten sufferers cannot eat couscous, but as it contains gluten we must avoid it.

You Might Also like:


Blue Diamond Almond Flour, Gluten Free, Blanched, Finely Sifted 3 Pound bag

This post contains affiliate links. This means we could earn a commission on sales, at no extra cost to you. Thank you for supporting GlutenFreeTree.