Is cornmeal gluten free? Corn is one of the most popular foods in the world. According to worldatlas.com, corn makes up 19.5 percent of the world’s calorie intake. Cornmeal is a coarse ground meal (like coarser flour) made from corn which is used in baking in many countries. Gluten intolerant people and Celiacs cannot eat flours such as wheat, rye, barley etc. However, can they eat cornmeal? Let’s find out!
Is Cornmeal Gluten Free? Yes with Caution
There is no gluten in cornmeal. However, there are a couple of things to keep in mind. First according to Healthline, “corn’s protein, zein, can cause an autoimmune reaction in some people with celiac disease. Not all people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity will react to corn.” Second, sometimes cornmeal is manufactured in the same areas as gluten products. As a result, the risk of cross contamination exists. This means that reading the packaging is important to make sure it is a certified gluten free product. If there is nothing on the packaging that says it is gluten free, it might not be gluten free.
Is cornmeal gluten free? Yes it is. However, you need to read the packaging to see if it is certified gluten free because there can be a risk of cross contamination. Also, for some Celiacs, there could be a reaction to the protein zein, so caution is needed. But if these hurdles are met, then cornmeal is definitely great alternative flour for baking. Bon Appetit!
Certified Gluten Free Cornmeal – Bob’s Red Mill cornmeal
We are pretty big fans of Bob’s Red Mill gluten free products around here. They are made in dedicated facilities, meaning that no gluten-containing ingredients are ever present in those manufacturing facilities. This means they’re very safe for Celiacs and those of us with serious gluten allergies and/or intolerances.
This post contains affiliate links. This means we can earn a small commission on sales at no extra cost to you. Thank you!