Is Captain Morgan Gluten Free? Many rum drinkers hope so as it is a great tasting rum that is great to mix with and some who enjoy this drink are gluten intolerant or have a gluten allergy. For them it would be shame if they could not have their favorite rum. So is it gluten free?
Is Captain Morgan Gluten Free? Yes With Some Caution
At Marque-alcool.com, it has a list of rums that are gluten free. If you do not speak French, who will have to use google translation to convert it to English. Regarding Rum being gluten free it states this:
“Rum is an alcoholic beverage distilled from sugar cane or cane juice. Fermentation and distillation play a key role in production. Rum is therefore naturally gluten-free. It is among the alcoholic drinks made with ingredients that do not contain gluten and is accepted as safe to drink by people with an intolerance or allergy to gluten.”
However, the website says there is a caution, “But many flavored rums and premix drink mixes, such as piña colada or mojito, may contain gluten ingredients. Always read the label or ask the manufacturer to find out if the product is gluten free.”
Regarding Captain Morgan, the website has it on their list as a gluten free rum brand. It is gluten free.
Captain Morgan rum is gluten free and that is a good thing for those who are gluten intolerant but love the taste of this product. However, as mentioned above, there is caution that needs to be applied when it comes to flavored rums or premix drink mixes as they can have ingredients that contain gluten. So the need to read labels or do more research is needed especially if you are extremely gluten sensitive. So if you like Captain Morgan, go ahead and enjoy. However, always drink responsibly and never drink and drive. Take care.