Papa Johns has a gluten free pizza crust

Gluten Free Papa John’s Pizza – Whole Grain Gluten Free Crust

Is there gluten free pizza at Papa John’s? The answer is yes! However, more and more pizza restaurants are having gluten free options so it is not a big surprise that Papa John’s now has gluten free pizza. The real measure is if Papa John’s gluten free pizza is any good. How does Papa John’s gluten free pizza taste? Because unfortunately some gluten free pizza tastes like cardboard. Not what we’re looking for here! We want our pizza to be temping, tasty and downright delicious. So really it is all about taste. While, at the same time being safe and gluten free. So – How does Papa John’s measure up? To help us, let’s look at the ingredients.

Gluten Free Papa John’s – Pizza crust Ingredients

If you go on Papa John’s official website, they give you a list of ingredients that is in their gluten free crust. The ingredients are Water, Sorghum Flour, Modified Rice Starch, Tapioca Starch, Teff Flour, Cage Free Egg Whites, Whey Powder, Shortening Flakes (Palm Oil, Natural Butter Flavor, Soy Lecithin), Quinoa Flour, Amaranth Flour, Canola/Olive Oil Blend, Yeast, Sugar, Brown Flax Seed, Salt, Cultured Brown Rice, Xanthan Gum, and Natural Flavors. The crust is definitely gluten free however, if you have an egg, milk, or soy allergy then you would probably need to be cautious. So how does it taste?

How Does it Taste? Papa John’s Gluten free pizza review

This pizza tastes great! The crust is crispy but not too crispy as when you bite into it, it has some give and elasticity – a nice, chewy element. And when you are chewing the crust, it breaks down nicely and feels like it is melting in your mouth. Also, there is no weird , strong or distinctive taste from the crust. As a result, you almost forget that you are eating a gluten free pizza. Finally, the crust is not at all greasy.

And we are very impressed that the crust has such high quality ingredients like mentioned above. Rather than being filled with only low-quality starches, it also contains healthy ingredients like teff and sorghum.

Is Papa John’s pizza certified gluten free?

A very important point to make is that this pizza is not certified gluten free. It is made in pizza kitchens where lots of other regular, gluten filled pizzas are made. So, the risk of cross contamination is quite high. If you are Celiac, please keep this in mind and order accordingly.

My wife, who has a serious gluten allergy, has been able to eat Papa John’s pizza and not get sick. But again, that is one experience at one location of Papa John’s. (We always order from the same location, knowing that they are extra careful, and that she’s never been sick from that pizza.)


Papa John’s gluten free pizza crust is wonderful! It is a great alternative for people with a mild or moderate gluten allergy or intolerance. (But we recommend that people with Celiac disease think carefully before ordering, because the risk of cross contamination is quite high.)

This crust makes you feel like like you are not missing out on good pizza. Instead, you forget that you are eating a gluten free pizza at all, and simply enjoy it! Even better is that it is hard to stop at one piece because it is so good. What can I say? Pizza John’s has hit it out the ball park with their gluten free crust and that means it is a home run!