Gluten Free Graham Crackers – Are graham wafers gluten free?

Graham crackers are a favourite snack item, and also a vital ingredient when it comes to baking some incredibly delicious desserts. Cheesecake, I’m looking at you! Also, graham crackers or wafers are essential for making that campfire favorite – smores! But, of course you need to know if graham crackers are gluten free and safe to eat if you are Celiac or have a gluten allergy. What did we find?

Are graham crackers gluten free?

Sadly, no. Regular graham crackers or wafers are NOT gluten free. We can tell this easily, because the main ingredient in most of these crackers is regular wheat flour. And, as any Celiac or gluten intolerant person can tell you – wheat is absolutely off the list of foods we can safely consume. The graham flour in most graham crackers is simply whole wheat flour, which again is not safe to eat if you must follow a gluten free diet.

Gluten free graham crackers

But, happily, we have discovered a wide range of gluten free graham crackers! Since they don’t use actual graham (whole wheat) flour, they aren’t technically a ‘real’ graham cracker. But, they are made to taste similar, only using gluten free ingredients. We found a number of types that you might want to try:

  • Pamela’s Honey Grahams – Pamela’s is a very popular gluten free manufacturer that makes foods that are so good it’s hard to tell they’re gluten free! These particular gluten free crackers currently have a 4/5 star rating, and you can buy a pack of 2 boxes to stock up your pantry for baking. Besides being gluten free they are also: soy free, corn free, nut free, and egg free.
  • Kinnickinnick makes a box of gluten free graham wafer crumbs (Canadian link here), which will simplify using these in your favourite pie or cheesecake recipes. No need to crush gluten free graham crackers – these are beautifully crushed into fine crumbs and ready to use. 4.5/5 stars. (And I happen to really love Kinnickinnick…their whole grain bread is what I make my toast with almost every single morning. I wrote about my love of their bread here.) AND…you can use these gluten free graham cracker crumbs in this recipe for gluten free peanut butter bars that taste exactly like Reese’s peanut butter cups. You are very welcome. 🙂
  • Schar Honeygrams (or Canadian link here) crackers are the highest rated gluten free cracker currently available on Amazon. A solid 4.5/5 star rating with over 240 reviews. (We also wrote about Schar gluten free Twix-type cookies here.)

Gluten free graham crackers – Conclusion

There we have it! Regular graham crackers – such as those made by Nabisco (Honey Maid) – are NOT gluten free. But, gluten free companies have thankfully developed their own recipes to replicate graham crackers in a gluten free form. Hooray! So, you can make S’mores to your heart’s content, and be truly safe while eating them.

This post contains affiliate links, meaning we may earn a small commission on sales at no extra cost to you. Thank you.