Is Culver’s gluten free or have gluten free options? At first look, you might say no as it appears to be a classic burger chain with food that appears to contain wheat. The focus of the food seems to be for the majority who can eat wheat or gluten. But what about gluten intolerant people who would love to have a good burger with fries? Is it possible for them to have this at Culver’s?
Culver’s Gluten Free? A Few Gluten Free Options but Caution
If you go to Culver’s website, they have a list of all the allergens in their menu items. The majority of their items do have gluten in them. However, they do have items such as Udi’s® Gluten Free Bun, Crinkle Cut Fries, George’s® Chili, and George’s® Chili Supreme that do not contain wheat or gluten. They also have so other side, dishes and condiments that do not have gluten. So technically you can still have burger and fries meal without gluten by using the Udi’s gluten free bun but there is a caution.
Culver’s Gluten Free? – Culver’s Disclaimer
Here’s a disclaimer from Culvers website regarding potential cross contamination below:
“Food safety is a top priority at Culver’s. We are proud to offer an Allergen Grid that helps our guests with food allergies make informed menu selections. The information in our Allergen Grid identifies common allergens present in each menu item. Culver’s restaurants contain common allergens and our dishes are prepared to order; however, normal kitchen operations involve shared cooking and preparation areas and we cannot guarantee any menu item will be free of allergens. Items cooked in the fryers may come into contact with egg, milk, wheat/gluten, soy, fish and shrimp. Culver’s ground beef is 100% beef, and it is cooked on a grill with bread. Breads and buns are baked in facilities that handle sesame seeds. Common allergens are present in custard toppings and cross-contact with other allergens may occur in the custard preparation and mixing area.
Please inform a restaurant manager when placing your order if a food allergy or sensitivity is a concern. From time to time, ingredients and allergens may change. We work closely with our suppliers to keep this information up-to-date and we encourage guests with food allergies and sensitivities to check the Allergen Grid each time you visit your local restaurant. You may also request to see the ingredient label from the product case. Test products and certain limited time offerings may not be available on the website, but can be obtained by contacting www.contactculvers.com .”
Culver’s is not truly gluten free. They have a gluten free bun. And have a few items that do not have wheat and gluten in them. However, there is a risk of cross contamination as menu items are all cook in same kitchen. Also, many of their items potentially use the same fryers and grills. If you are extremely gluten sensitive or Celiac, this might be too risky. If you are not as sensitive, the best thing to do is inform your server of your sensitivities. They might be able to accommodate you to keep your food items separate. For many, Culver’s is a great place to eat but for gluten sufferers caution must be used when deciding if this is the right place for you.
You Might Like:
Udi’s Gluten-Free Plain Bagels, “4 Count (Pack of 8)