We all love a chocolate treat once in a while, and so we need to know – are Twix bars gluten free? The famous chocolate bar, Twix, has been around since 1967, when it was invented in the UK. Twix bars made their debut in the US in 1979.
Do Twix bars have gluten?
For those of us who can’t eat gluten – the important question remains: Are Twix gluten free? Do Twix bars contain gluten? And sadly, we have to tell you that NO, Twix chocolate bars are NOT gluten free. Because Twix bars are made with a thick, traditional cookie on the base (below the caramel) it has wheat flour in it. That means it is off limits for anyone who is Celiac or has a gluten intolerance or allergy.
Copycat Gluten Free Twix bars
But, I can happily say that I have found a replacement that is quite close to Twix bars. You can buy these on Amazon and they ARE gluten free! Schar produces these little cookie and caramel bars, covered in milk chocolate. They call their gluten free bars Chocolix – and apparently they are the number one selling gluten free chocolate bar in Europe! They look delicious, as most things by Schar always are. (We’ve written a number of articles about Schar brand, and always tend to LOVE their products.)
The only thing to keep in mind about these bars are that they’re smaller than traditional Twix bars. But, otherwise – they’re the closest we can find to a lovely, cookie and caramel chocolate bar. Enjoy! (And PLEASE chocolate bar manufacturers – make a gluten free authentic Twix bar! And more gluten free bars in general. Thanks from all the Celiacs and gluten intolerant folks in the world, of which there seem to be more and more of us.)
This post uses Amazon affiliate links. This means we may earn a small commission on any sales made via our links, at no extra cost to you. Thanks for supporting GlutenFreeTree.