Are Tostitos gluten free? These delicious tortilla chips come in a wide range of mouthwatering flavors, and are an always popular snack item to keep in your pantry. But, of course, our concern is whether or not they are safe for those with Celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity. Come along with us as we find out!
Are Tostitos Gluten Free? Some Caution is needed
If you go to Frito Lays website (they make Tostitos Chips), they list Tostitos as having no wheat, rye, barley or oats. But there is caution when it comes if you can categorize these as gluten free. Here’s what it says from their website below:
“However, some of the products listed below may be manufactured on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Although our lines are cleaned between production runs, Frito Lay Canada has not tested these products for gluten content and the ingredients in these products may have come into contact with gluten-containing products prior to manufacturing. Individuals who are sensitive to gluten should take these factors into consideration in consuming these products.
Please note: The information provided pertains only to products made and distributed in Canada. Products sold in other countries under similar brands may be made using slightly different recipes and ingredients to accommodate local needs and preferences. “
So what does this mean? It means that if you are Celiac or very gluten sensitive, you might have to exercise caution when eating Tostitos because they are made on the same manufacturing line as products that contain gluten and even though these lines are cleaned between usage, there is no guarantee that these chips would be gluten free.
Are Tostitos gluten free? Well, they do not contain any gluten ingredients but they cannot be truly labelled a gluten free product due to the potential of cross contamination. They are not a certified gluten free snack. As a result, caution is needed when deciding if Tostitos is the snack for you. Eat well everyone!