Are Rice Krispies gluten free?

Whether you love a big bowl of snap-crackle-pop Rice Krispies as a breakfast, a snack OR as that all-important ingredient in Rice Krispies squares…if you’re visiting us here, you need to know…Is this cereal gluten free?

Our verdict: Not always.

The main ingredient in regular Rice Krispies is absolutely rice. But, traditional Kellogg’s brand Rice Krispies are NOT labelled as gluten free, likely because the ingredients include malt – which is a product made from barley. If you’ve been Celiac for any amount of time, you know that barley is a NO NO. (I learned that the hard way years ago, when I thought barley flour was fine to use, and I got viciously sick after eating cookies I made with it. Boy, did I ever learn quickly…)

But there ARE gluten free Rice Krispies

But thankfully, Kellogg’s has developed a new, brown rice Rice Krispies that IS entirely gluten free! Not only are these whole grain (unlike the original version, which used white rice), but they are safe for us with serious gluten allergies or Celiac disease.

So, rejoice, Rice Krispies squares lovers! You can use gluten free Rice Krispies in your favourite recipes and know that you can safely eat your treats without hurting your health. Hooray! (Just ensure that all other ingredients in your Rice Krispies square recipe are also gluten free – including the marshmallows and vanilla.)


Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Gluten Free Cereal 340g
Current price $4.47 per 340 gram box

And…if you happen to have an awesome gluten free recipe for any squares that use Rice Krispies…then we’d love for you to let us know about them! You can also use the cereal as a simple addition in homemade granola bars to add a really lovely crunch, and a nice toasty taste. Enjoy your treats, gluten free of course.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *