Are Bugles gluten free? When I was a boy, I used to get excited when I saw Bugles at the local store. I just loved the crunchiness of each bugle you would eat and it tasted so good! You also had the added benefit of blowing into each bugle like a horn! Ah good times! And many years later, they are still going strong and a new generation is enjoying this great snack. However, in our days of allergies, many people suffer from gluten intolerance and have to be mindful when it comes to their snacks. Where does Bugles fall in? Are they gluten free?
Are Bugles Gluten Free? Gluten Friendly but Not Gluten Free
Bugles are made by General Mills and if you go to their website they list the nutrition and allergen information regarding Bugles. Regarding the ingredients, the website lists Bugles containing Degermed Yellow Corn Meal, Coconut Oil and/or Palm Kernel Oil, Sugar, Salt, Baking Soda. Freshness Preserved by BHT. So looking at the ingredients it looks like there is no gluten in Bugles. However, it also says that it may contain Milk and Wheat ingredients. So it sounds like from this is that there is a risk of cross contamination as there must be other products that have milk and wheat made in the same area. As a result they are not technically gluten free as there is some risk.
Bugles corn snacks could be technically gluten friendly because are are no gluten in its ingredients. However, they are not truly gluten free due to the risk of cross contamination. So caution must be exercised especially if you have a severe gluten allergy or Celiac. It comes down to risk versus reward and for some it might be worth it but for others the risks might be too great. When it comes to Bugles and other snacks, always do your research and then make good decisions base on what you find. Eat well and be safe my friends.
Bugles Original 3 oz. (Pack of 6)
This post contains affiliate links, meaning that we can earn a small commission on sales at no extra cost to you.