A picture of applebee's sign to highlight question of is Applebee's gluten free

Applebee’s Gluten Free food – Are There Options?

Does Applebee’s have gluten free options? At first glance you might think no as it is a large chain that appeals to the masses. Also, I have never seen an Applebee’s commercial that highlighted gluten free options. As a result, you might immediately dismiss them if you were looking for a place with gluten free food. I thought I would do a little digging to see if this was really so and this is what I have found below.

Applebee’s Gluten Free – Allergen Information

At their website, there is a section that breaks down the allergen information for their food. Here you can narrow it to where it shows you what food does not contain wheat or gluten. However, they have a caution as indicated below:

“At Applebee’s, we provide allergen information for our guests with dietary restrictions and food allergies. Guests can review our allergen information and order knowing many delicious menu options exist at Applebee’s for everyone. As part of our commitment to you, we provide the most current allergen information available from our food suppliers on eight common allergenic foods. These foods include: egg, fish, milk, peanuts, shellfish, soy, tree nuts, and wheat. In addition, we identify menu items with gluten-containing ingredients. Because we have multiple sources of allergens in our shared cooking and prep areas, including common fryer oil, we are unable to guarantee that any menu item can be completely free of allergens. In addition, we use highly refined soybean oil in our fryers, which the FDA exempts from being labeled an allergen. Due to the complexity of our ingredients, other allergenic foods may be present in a menu item, but not declared on this section or menu.”

Here is a list of some menu items that do not contain wheat for gluten below.

Applebee’s Gluten Free – Menu items Without Wheat or Gluten

The following is not an extensive list. However, if you want to see the full list, please go to the Applebee’s website.

Appetizers – The Website lists 23 items that do not have wheat or gluten. Some of these are Boneless Wings, Chips and Salsa, Double Crunch Bone-in Wings, Neighborhood Nachos, The Classic Combo and White Queso Dip & Chips.

Side Salads and Soups – They have House Salad with various dressings and Chicken Tortilla Soup.

Steaks & Ribs – Their website lists 16 menu items. Some of these are 6 or 8 oz. Top Sirloin, 12 oz. Ribeye, Applebee’s Riblets Plate or Platter, Bourbon Street Steak, and Double Glazed Baby Back Ribs.

Chicken – The menu has Bourbon Street Chicken & Shrimp, Fiesta Lime Chicken and Grilled Chicken Breast.

Seafood – Their are three items which are Blacken Cajun Salmon, Grilled Salmon, and Lemon Garlic Shrimp Skewers.

Bowls -The menu has two items which are Southwest Chicken Bowl and Tex-Mex Shrimp bowl.

Burger Substitutions – There are two items which are Chicken Breast Patty and Lettuce Cup.

Dessert – They list one item which is Hot Fudge Sundae Shooter.

There are also many drink options that have no wheat or gluten in them. To see the full list, just go to the website as mentioned above.

Conclusion

Applebee’s does have many items that do not contain wheat or gluten. However, because there is a shared prep and cooking area with foods that contain gluten or wheat caution should be used. This is especially true if you are Celiac or very gluten sensitive. But it is a pleasant surprise that Applebee’s potentially has options! Who knew? Take care and stay safe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *